2012-01-18 / Editorial

Looking Back

10 years ago: Jan. 16, 2002

Betty White of Waynesboro announced plans to challenge Alberta Anderson for the 116th district seat in the Georgia House of Representatives.

The Waynesboro Rotary Club completed its commitment to donate $25,000 toward the construction of the local Augusta Tech campus.

Waynesboro Mayor Martin Dolin said the city had received 10 applications from persons interested in succeeding Jack Brantley as City Administrator.

25 years ago: Jan. 15, 1987

Newly elected Board of Education member Arnold Bell failed to persuade other board members to change their meeting time from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. to accommodate the public.

The Georgia Power Company opened the county’s first public boating ramp on the Savannah River.

Ray DeLaigle and Herman Lodge were re-elected for another term as chairman and vice-chairman, respectively, of the Burke County Commission.

Augusta architect John T. Brown was hired to design and supervise construction of a new 60-bed jail facility for Burke County.

50 years ago: Jan. 17, 1962

Three new officers were named at the Bank of Waynesboro. W.H. Harper Jr. was elected vice-president and Marjorie Dales and Henrietta Edwards were named assistant cashiers.

Warnock H. Blount, a World War I veteran who had been a printer at The True Citizen for 35 years, died at the age of 73.

St. Michael’s Episcopal Church held groundbreaking ceremonies beginning the renovation and enlargement of the church building. Ernest W. Bartlett was the local contractor in charge of the project.

Waynesboro native Lt. Col. William L. Brinson was selected as commander of one of the U.S. Air Force’s first all-jet strategic airlift units at Travis Air Force Base in California.

75 years ago: Jan. 15, 1937

Local farmer and banker C.W. Skinner was elected chairman of Burke County Commission.

J.C. Palmer was re-elected president of the First National Bank, along with executive vice-president M.K. Tucker, vice-president S.A. Corker and cashier M.R. Oliver. The bank’s board of directors declared an 8 percent divided.

Newly elected members of the Waynesboro City Council included J. Frank Rackley, Walter Green and M.K. Tucker.

Return to top