2015-07-15 / People


Dr. Lillianne Lewis

Lillianne Marie Lewis MD, MPH of Atlanta was selected as winner of the 2015 William E. Booth Resident Research Day at Morehouse School of Medicine. Dr. Lewis completed her medical studies at Duke University School of Medicine and in 2012 joined the Morehouse School of Medicine Community Pediatric Residency Program. Her ultimate goal is to serve the community and the underserved as a public health pediatrician. Upon completion of her pediatrics residency, Dr. Lewis will be participating in the Epidemic Intelligence Service program, a 2-year training experience with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta. She is the daughter of Dr. Lonzy J. Lewis and Mrs. Cynthia Patterson Lewis, and the granddaughter of Annie H. Patterson, the late William J. Patterson, Lillian Lewis and the late Joseph Lewis.

GSU Graduates

A number of area student graduated from Georgia Southern University in Statesboro during its spring commencement ceremony. They include: Lindsay M Birchfield of Louisville, athletic training; Billie K. Black of Waynesboro, biology; Jenice L. Brown of Waynesboro, nursing; Kathryn H. Clay of Midville, secondary education; Cynthia A. Jersey of Louisville, special education; Julie S. Kelley of Waynesboro, sports management; Megan E. Moore of Midville; music; Rebecca L. Nevetral of Louisville, instructional technology; Lacey A. Oellerich of Hephzibah, public relations; Alton S. Sapp of Waynesboro, political science; Marcus A. Thomas of Hephzibah, sports management; Auburn S. White of Waynesboro, political science; Savannah K. Wiersma of Blythe, interior design; Glenn D. Wiggins of Hephzibah, construction management; Clinton H Williams of Louisville, management; Deon Williams of Waynesboro, biology; and Jeffrey M Winn of Blythe, electrical engineering.

Angela Geissinger, Kayla Lugo

Two Burke County students recently graduated from Kent State University during the Ohio college’s spring commencement ceremony. Angela Geissinger of Waynesboro earned a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the College of Nursing. Kayla Lugo, also of Waynesboro, earned a Bachelor of Science from the College of Communication and Information.

Nancey Price

Nancey Price of Girard graduated from Mercer University during the Macon college’s spring commencement. She earned a Bachelor of Arts magna cum laude with University Honors from Mercer's College of Liberal Arts.

Amber Bowman, Lawrence Robertson

Two local students graduated from the University of North Georgia during a commencement ceremony in Dahlonega. Amber Suzanne Bowman of Hephzibah earned her Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and Lawrence Robertson, also of Hephzibah, earned his Doctor of Physical Therapy.

Virginia Fordham

Virginia Fordham graduated from Valdosta State during its 219th commencement ceremony. The Midville resident earned a degree in Education Specialist, Teacher Leadership.

Quintin Bostic

Quintin Bostic of Hephzibah graduated from Georgia State University during a commencement ceremony in the Georgia Dome. He received a Master's Degree in Urban Teacher Leadership.

Michaela Carter

Michaela Carter of Waynesboro has been named to the Georgia State University Dean's List for Spring 2015. To be eligible for the Dean's List, students must earn a 3.50 GPA for the semester and complete at least nine semester hours of academic credit with no incompletes.

GSU Principal’s List

A number of area student were named to Georgia Southern University’s Principal’s List for the 2015 Spring Semester Dean's List. To be eligible, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester. Students include: Haley Chandler of Sardis; Abigail Harrison of Waynesboro; Phillip Salter, Rachel Watson and Macy Salter, all of Louisville; and Brianna Carter, Marcus Thomas and Warren Wright, all of Hephzibah.

GSU Dean’s List

A number of area student were named to Georgia Southern University’s Dean’s List for the 2015 Spring Semester. To be eligible, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester. Students include: Bailee Adkins, Shatoria Rackins and Jenice Brown, all of Waynesboro; Michael Cillo of Sardis; Savannah Wiersma of Blythe; and Kenyatta Brown, Jamaal Caleb, William Coburn, S'Dravious DeVeaux, Tatyana Edwards, Candace Johnson, Rachel Lewis, Lexus Lewis, Emily May, Christopher Palmer, Josh Stroud, Patrice Trottie, Shonterious Williams and Neal Wolff, all of Hephzibah.

Return to top