2018-02-07 / Editorial


{this week in Burke County history}

10 YEARS AGO – FEBRUARY 13, 2008

John Bearden, manager of the Di-Lane Wildlife Management Area, was named Citizen of the Year by the Burke County Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Golf Carts was named Small Business of the Year.

Midville City Council member Scotty Womack was sentenced to 30 days in jail for pulling a shotgun on a former employee.

More than 500 people gathered to honor Charles Bennett of Waynesboro on his retirement after 34 years with the Georgia State Patrol.

25 YEARS AGO – FEBRUARY 11, 1993

GNB Inc. officially began a damage control program as it sought to answer critics of a proposed battery recycling plant to be built here. In connection to the controversy, a group of local citizens filed suit against the Burke County Commissioners and the Economic Development Authority asking the court to void any agreements between the company and the county.

In three months the Burke County unemployment rate had dropped from 16.9 percent – third highest in the state – to 10.4 percent – tenth highest.


Mr. and Mrs. Sidney C. Cox were presented with The Bronze Star and the Navy Commendation Medal which were presented posthumously to their son, Lt. Jackson E. Cox. The presentation was made by Parris Island Commanding General Ormond R. Simpson.

Gail Hilliard was crowned Miss Waynesboro 1968. She had previously been named Homecoming Queen at Waynesboro High School and Miss Burke County Fair.

Planters Electric Membership Corp. received a $693,000 REA loan to construct 64 miles of line for 706 new subscribers in Burke and surrounding counties.

75 YEARS AGO – FEBRUARY 11, 1943

J.C. Palmer Jr. was promoted to First Lt. at Fort Bragg, N.C. First Lt. Ernest Bartlett was an instructor at the Bainbridge Airfield. Staff Sgt. Harley Drew was stationed at Camp Blanding, Fla.

A Lions Club was organized in Sardis with 15 charter members. The first president of the new club was A.H. Gnann.

Pastors of local churches included W.A. Alsobrook – Midville Methodist, Curry Davis – First Presbyterian, Roy McTier – First Methodist, Hamilton West – St. Michael’s and Knolan Benfield – First Baptist.

Return to top